Just another beautiful sunset

This has been a lovely week as it was one of the rare times that I managed to get my wife to approve a few hours for me to take my trusty X20 out for a walk 🙂

I decided to go to the nearby Upper Seletar Reservoir to take some shoots of the sunset. I must say that though I have been there a couple times, it was mostly in realms of the dark nights and mostly long exposures shots. It was kinda embarrassing to say that taking sunset at Upper Seletar Reservoir was a first for me, even though I lived there for more than 4 years.

DSCF9933

DSCF9907

DSCF9915

DSCF9970

Anyway as shown in my previous posts, the X20 was quite capable of taking sunset, in full glorious colors. The sunset at Upper Seletar Reservoir was slightly different as the direction and view was largely blocked by rail tracks and trees. But then, its a reservoir and the water masses made up for it with the beautiful reflections.

DSCF9922

DSCF9927

DSCF9916

DSCF9964

DSCF9957

As nightfall, it became a stretch for the X20 again as it struggles to take long exposure. For example in the below image, it has obvious slight grains, but acceptable. (by the way, the streak of light is the train passing by). One thing that got me a bit impatient though was the long processing time when taking long exposures. I managed to play a few rounds of Candy Crush and Injustice while waiting. Perhaps Fujifilm can do something about it as a firmware upgrade.

DSCF0036

Next time, I will take some sunset in B&W – which is where the X20’s true strength lies. Would love to see the results 🙂

3 thoughts on “Just another beautiful sunset

  1. Pingback: At the End Of the Day, It’s All Good | Mrs. City Boy

  2. Pingback: Sunset 14 April 2013 | An Ever Changing Sky

  3. Pingback: Sunset 30 April 2013 | An Ever Changing Sky

Leave a Reply

